Electronic Components and Assemblies

more info

Quality and Reliability

more info

Application Center for Process Technology in Assembly Manufacturing

more info

Available Technologies

more info

Quality and Reliability


The department "Module Integration" is concerned with the quality and reliability of electronic assemblies. During manufacturing and lifetime, all parts of an electronic assembly undergo deteriorative loads such as soldering heat, mounting stress and humidity/temperature cycles in field application. Material selection, design and process control are the decisive factors to deliver products of high quality. Based on many years of analysing failures from field returns or accelerated aging, ISIT has developed a range of service offers that allow customers to actively increase the reliability of their products.


● Analytics and environmental testing
● Individual consulting on design and process issues
● Training for production leaders and operators
● Targeted R&D projects with third party funding
● Networking with regional competence in industry and academia

For the analysis of electronic devices and modules of most different kinds, a large variety of tools is available for metallographic preparation and characterisation, e.g. a scanning electron microscope with EDX feature for element probing. Non-destructive techniques like microfocus X-Ray analysis and scanning acoustic microscopy allow to localise failures precisely before the actual preparation or to screen a large amount of samples for known typical failures within a short time.

Since 2008, the Fraunhofer ISIT is founding member of the "Competence Center Power electronics" that bundles industrial and scientific expertise in the region of Schleswig-Holstein in a regional network. In addition to ISIT's running R&D activities in the domain of power semiconductor technology, the "Module Integration" department systematically extends their competences in analytics, thermal simulation and assembly technology of power modules. Cooperations and research projects on a national or European level are equally important innovation drivers.

Elektronische Bauelemente und Baugruppen

mehr Info

Applikationszentrum für Prozesstechnik in der Baugruppenfertigung

mehr Info

Leistungselektronik, Bauelemente und Module

mehr Info

Verfügbare Technologien

mehr Info

Qualität und Zuverlässigkeit

Die Abteilung "Modulintegration" befaßt sich mit der Qualität und Zuverlässigkeit elektronischer Baugruppen. Die Komponenten einer Baugruppe werden in Lötprozessen, Montage und Feldeinsatz erheblichen Belastungen ausgesetzt. Material, Design und Prozesskontrolle sind die entscheidenden Faktoren, um Produkte hoher Qualität zu erzeugen. Basierend auf vielen Jahren der Analyse konkreter Schadensfälle und beschleunigt gealterter Vorserienmuster hat das ISIT ein Spektrum an Dienstleistungen entwickelt, mit denen Kunden aktiv die Zuverlässigkeit ihrer Produkte steigern können.

 

● Analytik und Umwelterprobung
● individuelle Beratung zu Design- und Prozessfragen
● Training für Produktionsverantwortliche und Fertigungspersonal
● Zielgerichtete FuE Projekte mit Drittmittelfinanzierung
● Vernetzung von industriellen und wissenschaftlichen Kompetenzen in der Region

Für die Analyse von elektronischen Bauteilen und Baugruppen verschiedenster Art stehen umfassende Hilfsmittel zur metallografischen Präparation und Charakterisierung zur Verfügung, z.B. ein Elektronenmikroskop mit einem EDX-Scan zur Elementanalyse. Nicht-destruktive Verfahren wie die Mikrofokus Röntgenanalytik und Ultraschallmikroskopie erlauben es, Fehler vor der Präparation genau zu lokalisieren oder auch eine Vielzahl von Objekten in kurzer Zeit nach bekannten Ausfallstellen abzusuchen.

Das Fraunhofer ISIT ist seit 2008 Gründungsmitglied des "Kompetenzzentrums Leistungselektronik", das die industrielle und wissenschaftliche Expertise in Schleswig-Holstein zu einem regionalen Netzwerk bündelt. In Ergänzung zu den am ISIT laufenden FuE Aktivitäten im Bereich Leistungshalbleiter-Technologie baut die Abteilung "Modulintegration" systematisch ihre Kompetenzen zur Analyse, thermischen Simulation und Aufbautechnik von Leistungsmodulen aus. Auch überregionale Kooperationen und innovationsfördernde Forschungsprojekte gelten hierfür als wichtige Standbeine.