Brief Portrait

Profile

The Fraunhofer Institute for Silicon Technology ISIT develops and produces power electronics and microsystems according to customers specifications. Important areas of application include energy technology, automotive and transport engineering, the consumer goods industry, medical technology, communications technology, and automation. Ultra-modern technological equipment based on 200 mm silicon wafer technology and expertise built up over decades put Fraunhofer ISIT and its customers at the forefront of the field worldwide.

Fraunhofer ISIT supports customers right the way from design and system simulation to the production of prototypes, samples, and preparation for series production. The institute currently employs a staff of 190 persons with engineering and natural sciences backgrounds.

Fraunhofer ISIT deals with all the important aspects of system integration, assembly and interconnection technology (packaging), and the reliability and quality of components, modules, and systems. The institute also provides manufacturing support for application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs) to operate sensors and actuators. Activities are rounded off by the development of electrical energy storage devices, with a focus on Li-polymer batteries.

One thing that really sets Fraunhofer ISIT apart is the speed with which it can transfer innovative developments into industrial application and production. To this end, Fraunhofer ISIT operates a wafer production line in its cleanrooms in collaboration with the companies Vishay and X-FAB MEMS Foundry Itzehoe. There are longstanding collaborations with a variety of manufacturing companies local to Fraunhofer ISIT.

Fraunhofer ISIT runs an application center at Hamburg University of Applied Sciences, a project group at the University of Applied Sciences in Heide, and a working group at the Christian-Albrechts-Universität in Kiel.

Institutsprofil

Kurzporträt

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Siliziumtechnologie (ISIT) entwickelt und fertigt kundenspezifisch Bauelemente der Leistungselektronik und der Mikrosystemtechnik. Wichtige Einsatzgebiete sind die Energietechnik, die Automobil- und Verkehrstechnik, die Konsumgüterindustrie, die Medizintechnik, die Kommunikations- und die Automatisierungstechnik. Die modernste technologische Ausstattung auf der Basis einer 200 mm-Silizium-Wafertechnologie und das über Jahrzehnte aufgebaute Know-how sichern dem ISIT und seinen Kunden eine weltweit führende Position auf dem Gebiet.

Das ISIT unterstützt seine Kunden vom Entwurf und der Systemsimulation bis hin zur Fertigung von Prototypen, Bemusterung und Serienvorbereitung. Das Institut beschäftigt heute etwa 190 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter mit ingenieur- und naturwissenschaftlichen Ausbildungsprofilen.

Das ISIT befasst sich mit allen wichtigen Aspekten der Systemintegration, der Aufbau- und Verbindungstechnik (Packaging) und der Zuverlässigkeit und Qualität von Bauelementen, Modulen und Systemen. Anwendungsspezifische Schaltungen (ASICs) für die Sensorik und Aktorik werden ebenfalls bereitgestellt. Zum Leistungsangebot des ISIT gehören weiterhin Entwicklungen im Bereich der elektrischen Energiespeicher mit dem Schwerpunkt im Bereich von Li-Polymer-Akkumulatoren.

Ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal des ISIT ist der schnelle Transfer innovativer Entwicklungen in die industrielle Anwendung und Produktion. Dafür arbeitet das ISIT in seinen Reinräumen mit der laufenden Waferproduktion der Firmen Vishay und X-FAB MEMS Foundry Itzehoe zusammen. Es bestehen langjährige Kooperationen mit verschiedenen produzierenden Unternehmen im Umfeld des ISIT.
 
Das ISIT betreibt ein Anwendungszentrum an der HAW in Hamburg, eine Projektgruppe an der FHW in Heide und eine Arbeitsgruppe an der Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel.